April 6, 1924 letter to Nancy Brown from Hannah Towne

April 6, 1924

To: Nancy Brown

From: Hannah Towne

More news about Carrie Barber; she was taken to the hospital and is to have an operation tomorrow morning for gall stones. There is so much work for herself and Ethan to do and neither one of them is in good health. She writes that she would jump in the river if she lived closer to it.

Sunday Apr 6 – 1924

Dear sister and all

It is now 25 to five and no one been here to day. Sunshine bright but a cold wind. Too bad Lou[1] is worse if there was any possible chance of his getting well. Think Alice[2] a very strange person. Cant she see money is needed every where. Think I would drop her if Lou goes. Trouble in so many places. Carrie[3] was taken to the Hospital this afternoon. Rogers took her. Operation to morrow morning at 9 oclock. That is for gall stones. In ten days they operate on the left side for adhesions. Mrs Lerner is with Ida[4] – came about noon to day. Will go to Hospital with her. Mrs will stay with her nights. A hard place for Ida and C-. Carrie wants you to write to her. Put Bronson Hospital on envelope. I have written to Marion to day. Will send her card to you and Lous[5] letter. Dont let them know it for you see F & M[6] are agoing to take a trip. Dont know as they would care but I dont want it to come from me. They are the ones to write to you. You remember you wanted me to send her letter. I am glad they are agoing to take the trip. Hope J & D-[7] can some day. Think Katherine[8] gave Dorothy a nice shower. Glad you sent Mabels letter. Ida called me after she got your letter said they had got a nice long letter from you and they were so glad. Said it made Carrie feel better. She said the second time it was such a good letter. The candy is the best they ever ate nothing like it. I am agoing to wash again in the morning as it takes me all the fore noon. I get so tired and my legs and feet pain me so it is all I can do to get a round. Not much to Ethen[9] and I. He has raked yard two days such a lot of leaves. Not half done yet.  How in sixty the work will ever be done is more then I can tell and every thing in such condition. Poor health and no money. The hens dont lay worth a cent. No I have’nt got a hat and dont see how I can but I have’nt a thing to wear on my head. I would jump in to the river some time if I lived nearer to it. I dont want any one to come here only our own folks and some of them I dont want to come just because we look so. If I were well could do some things that would make it look better in the house – do a little painting etc. but it is all I can do to do just as little as I can. Pumping water is killing. I wake up in the night and the pump is a night mare to me. I’ll be glad when Lou can come then I’ll have some one to talk to. I rec’d Dorothys good letter was glad to get it. Of course she dont expect me to answer it. I have got to write to Lou so must get at it. If you dont get a card from me the last of week you will know I am to busy to write. Am sewing a little. Good bye

Love

H

“Hope to hear good news in your next letter.”

Sent Marions back.

——-

[1] Nancy’s son-in-law, Louis Mueller

[2] Lou’s sister, Alice Miller

[3] A neighbor, Carrie Barber

[4] Carrie’s mother, Ida Barber-Howe

[5] Their sister, Louese (Keith) Harris

[6] Their niece and nephew-in-law, Mildred (Harris) & Fred Cripe

[7] Nancy’s granddaughter, Dorothy Recoschewitz, and her fiance, Joseph Langmayer

[8] Believe this is Dorothy’s step/half-sister, Kathryn (Brouty) Thornton

[9] Their brother, Ethan Keith

This entry was posted in 1924 Letters and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

