February 22, 1923 letter to Nancy Brown from Jim and Cora Keith

 February 22, 1923

To: Nancy Brown

From: Jim & Cora Keith, Shelbyville, MI

Jim and Cora both write thanking Nancy for the candy they sent.  Jim has been troubled with asthma all winter long but is now taking some medicine that he thinks is helping.

Shelbyvill Mich

Feb. 22/23

Dear Sister

Rece’d you card to day and am sorry I have not written before. Also received the coat last week. It was a perfect fit and many thanks for it. We got the candy and it was surely fine. Hope thay[1] will do well with it. Nan, I am going to tell you a little about myself. I have been sick about all winter with the asthma. From the first of Nov. untill the first of Feb. I was not able to do any thing. Would have one attack right after another not over three day apart. Wilma and Winona[2] had to do chores for I could not get out of to house for three and four days at a time. I am takeing some medicine now that I think is helping me. I know of two that it has cured. I am on my third bottle and am feeling better every day. Went to work for Doc[3] the 6th of this month and worked evey day Doing my own chore. I began taking this medicen Dec 30/22. Will enclose part of label so you can see the name of it. Cora[4] will write you about the candy. Will say good bye for this time. Will try and write again soon.

Your Bro

Jim

ShelbyVille Feb 22- 1923

Dear Nan Lela & Bess

As Jim is writing I want to put in a few lines and thank you for the candy. They were certainly fine. I would surely like to peep in your candy kitchen. I think your on the right track now. I believe it will pay better in the long run than the tea room[5] and not so much risked either. Then you are all there together. That another nice thing about it however I wish you sucess and good luck. I hope we will have something to send you folks some day. I hear Robert[6] has a new job. It is fine he can do that and go to school too. Is Martha[7] there yet. You have never said in any of your letters.

Floyd[8] is much better now so he is in the store some. I think its mostly his nerves and thats enough. He would seem to go all to pieces at times. Seemed to me he was something like Lou M.[9] I believe Jims medicine would help them both.

Cora

[1] Nancy’s daughters, Lela (Brown) Mueller and Bess (Brown) Recoschewitz, started a candy business, Nancy Keith Candies

[2] Jim’s daughters

[3] Samuel “Doc” Boyer. Doc was married to LaVerne Harris, the daughter of D. and Louese (Keith) Harris. The Harrises owned the general store in Shelbyville and perhaps this is what Jim was referring to

[4] Jim’s wife, Cora (Meredith) Keith

[5] Lela and Bess wanted to open a tea room. They found the perfect store which was already furnished, however, on the day they were to close the deal they found out that all the furnishings had been removed. They regrouped and focused instead on making candy

[6] Bess’ son, Robert Recoschewitz

[7] Martha Lueder, who was living temporarily with Lela and Lou

[8] Floyd Harris, the son of Jim’s sister Louese (Keith) Harris

[9] Lela’s husband, Louis Mueller, who had been hit by a streetcar and suffered a brain injury

This entry was posted in Nancy Brown's 1923 Diary and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

