July 21, 1920 letter to Nancy Brown from Lela Mueller

July 21, 1920

To: Nancy Brown, Kalamazoo, MI

From: Lela Mueller, Chicago, IL

Was having Uncle Will & Aunt Lizzie along with other members of their family over for dinner Wednesday night, then on Friday went to Uncle Will’s farm and took hot food so they wouldn’t have to cook once they got there. Came home with a “mess” of peas, beans and potatoes. Helen and Jean miss her.

Wed 3:30 P.M.[1]

Dear Ones All:

I’ll write a little while I’m waiting for company. Thought I’d celebrate before Mr. Dee[2] arrived, which will be Friday or Saturday. Uncle Will, Aunt Lizzie, Harold, Ruth, Ralph, Esther, Ray,[3] June,[4] Kathrine Eiden and Dorothy Reco.[5] are coming for dinner to-night. Wish you could be here too.[6] We are having corn beef, cabbage, turnips, carrots, beets, onions, horseradish, coffee, black berry pie and cheese – thought the would be easier as I wouldnt have to fix salad and have other side dishes. Have every thing ready. I’m going to let the children[7] eat out doors on the picnic dishes. They are going to have creamed potatoes, sandwiches, red raspberries, lemonade and cookies. I’ll get theirs earlier than we have ours. I talked with Mrs Eidens yesterday. She says Jane Marion is getting along fine. The Dr expected to take the cast off to-day. They are so happy over it. Mrs Eiden had been down to have more braces made for her and they told her there was no need as she was getting worse all the time. She said she was about heart broken and on her way home a woman on the car noticed Jane and asked what the trouble was. Mrs Eiden told her, and she asked if she had ever heard of a Dr some body – said he had cured so many in Jane’s condition – so thats the way.

Friday 5:30 – Will try and finish this. The folks staid till nearly eleven Wed – all seemed to have a good time. Uncle Will & Aunt Lizzie left about 9:00 and thought the others were going too, but they were playing pool and Ray said he didn’t know when he had enjoyed any thing as he did that. Ralph has a buyer for the gallery. Ruth seems to feel pretty good. I guess they dread to see the gallery go.

Mrs Geezy was here all day yesterday. She cleaned all day – washed windows, floors, etc. I did a big washing, then went to the farm with Claude, Edie,[8] Ray and Esther. Lou[9] and children went too. We had a dandy ride and it was nice out there. We took our supper hot so didn’t have to cook after we got there. I took creamed scalloped potatoes with pork chops. Edie took coffee, tomatos, salad and apple pie, Esther took bread butter & cream. We got a small mess of peas, gave those to Edie. We brought quite a few beans home. Have potatoes as large as walnuts.

I’ll try and send writing paper the first of the week. Will send what pictures are good. Will take more Sunday.

Mr Dee comes to-morrow, will be here for Supper and Sunday breakfast – but goes to Aurora for the rest of the day.

Tuesday P.M. Its almost a week since I commenced this and I’ve been busy all the time. Took me all day Friday to finish up. Then Sat had baking etc to do and some ironing. I also ironed Sunday what I could and was too tired to write but guess I’ll try and finish this now and mail it. Your package came yesterday. I’ve got the washing done and part of the ironing. Bess[10] was coming up but Virginia is there this week so I told her to wait till Thurs – but I’ll be through to-morrow if nothing happens. Then I’ll plan to send the things Thurs. I washed the skirt also the new goods. Thought it would be better to be alike.

I told Mrs Eckel[11] I knew how she felt when she got the boy’s clothes when they were away. She said as dirty as they were she felt like kissing them. Helen took your dress and put it up to her face and said “I want to see my Grandma.” I thought she was going to cry but she didn’t. I asked Jean how it made her feel. She said “It makes me feel perfectly funny.”

I had Bess get writing paper yesterday so I’ll send that with the clothes. Now dont try and do your washing there as we can do it so much easier. Send more the next time.

I’ve got to put the kids to bed and have to bathe them first so I’ll have to ring off.

Will do better next time.

Lots of love to all.

Lela

[1] The postmark on the envelope is July 28, 1920

[2] One of Lela and Lou’s boarders

[3] Nancy’s brother-in-law and his wife, Willis and Elizabeth (Ogden) Brown and their children, Charles Harold Brown, Ruth (Brown) & Ralph Kroscher, and Esther (Carlson) & Ray Brown

[4] Will & Lizzie’s granddaughter, June Brown

[5] Lela’s niece, Dorothy Recoschewitz

[6] Nancy lived with Lela and Lou but was visiting her brother and sister, Ethan Keith and Hannah (Keith) Towne, who lived in the old family farm in Galesburg, Michigan

[7] Lela’s daughters, Helen and Eda “Jean” Mueller, along with June Brown and possibly Kathrine Eiden

[8] Lela’s brother and sister-in-law, Claude and Eda (Neumaier) Brown

[9] Lela’s husband, Louis Mueller

[10] Lela’s sister, Bess (Brown) Recoschewitz

[11] Lela & Lou’s next door neighbor, Daisy Eckel

This entry was posted in 1920 Letters and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

